Secrets to Glowing Skin: Oil and the Simplest DIY Coffee Scrub

Today we’ll be doing something a little different. Are you excited? You should be! I’ll be showing you how to make an exfoliating scrub for your face and body that is 100% natural, very easy, and that only requires two ingredients.

Over the years as I have become more interested in diet and health, and as a result, more drawn to what is natural and unprocessed, I’m finding I’ve also been putting more thought into the products I use on my skin. Aside from the obvious rule that all of my skincare is animal-product free, and not tested on animals, I have tried to find effective skincare solutions that are free from harsh chemicals, alcohols, and so on.

I’d been using Simple Skincare products for about a year, assuming that they were vegan because they state “No Animal Derived Ingredients” on each bottle. Recently I emailed them to check, and received an email back from Unilever, advising that while they are working towards eliminating animal testing, some of their products still are tested on animals, and in some countries they still do routinely in order to comply with legislation. I was upset that I had not checked this earlier! If you would like a copy of the email, just let me know and I can forward it to you. Anyway, this provided further motivation to find skincare that is 100% natural, animal product and testing free, and from a trustworthy source.

I’m not sure how sound the science is behind this (and please, if you are knowledgeable about it, please comment and educate me!), but I have read that much of what we put on our skin is absorbed into our bodies. To me that makes intuitive sense. Many times I’ve heard it said that what we use on our skin should be ‘good enough to eat’ – in other words, if it’s full of crap that you wouldn’t put directly into your body by eating, don’t put it on your skin. Once you start going down that path, skincare becomes more and more… edible. It can be easy to make at home, fun and rewarding too!

This post is something of a taster for a very exciting guest post that will be coming up soon. A good friend of mine actually makes pre-wash, face wash, and toner specially tailored for me, with ingredients like apple cider vinegar, essential oils, and a few other goodies. In her kitchen she also makes soaps, makeup, lip balms, lotions and household products.  She’ll be sharing a recipe for something fun, made out of ingredients that are so common, if you don’t already have them in your kitchen, you can pick up from the baking isle of any supermarket. I hope that has you intrigued!

She made these adorable bath scent infusers for me too, which I’m yet to use.

While my skin is by no means flawless, given the severe acne I suffered for all of my teenage years, it’s come a long way. Thanks to the wonders of Roaccutane, growing older, building a habit of drinking 2-3 litres of water each day, and giving up dairy, my skin is generally quite clear. I don’t need to wear foundation or powder on it. In fact, I think it’s better not to.

In years past, I considered the thought of using oil on my skin completely insane. Now I regularly use a pre-wash made with essential oils, this scrub made with coconut oil, and I use a few drops of 100% pure rosehip essential oil instead of moisturiser. I use olive oil as eye-makeup remover, and coconut oil to moisturise my legs. My skin has never been better! While I believe that 80% of having great skin comes down to what you eat and drink, and how much you sleep, it is still important to keep your skin well exfoliated, cleansed and moisturised. I’m planning not to get wrinkles, without anything unnatural. And this scrub recipe is part of that master plan.

Ash likes to make coffee in a plunger on the weekends, so we end up with all of these leftover coffee grinds. Neither of us like wastage, and so it seemed natural to find a use for the grinds and make a scrub. If you don’t have any at home perhaps you could ask your local friendly barista to pop some in a cup for you. Apparently coffee is amazing for the skin. There are a number of skincare products now that include coffee as a primary ingredient, and for years the most effective anti-cellulite creams have contained caffeine. I think it stimulates the production of collagen or something. To be honest I don’t know all that much about skin care, but I do know that what jump-starts your brain in the morning also jump-starts glowing skin. In using the grinds you also get some good scrubby action going, which is great in removing dead skin cells and all that jazz.

Coconut Oil and Coffee Exfoliating Scrub – For the face and body.

On my face I apply a little bit of the scrub with my finger tips and gently scrub in a circular motion, then rinse off with warm water and a cloth to remove the coffee grinds. I follow that with my usual face wash, a spritz of toner and then I massage a couple of drops of rosehip essential oil into my skin. I do this over the sink because I end up with a sprinkling of coffee grinds falling off my face as I scrub.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup coffee grinds
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil

Method:

  1. Melt the coconut oil until it’s completely liquid.
  2. Stir in the coffee grinds and place in a clean jar.
  3. Let sit in a cool place for a few hours to allow the oil to solidify again, stirring occasionally to ensure that the coffee grinds are evenly distributed through the oil.

That’s it!

xx

p.s. I think it would make a great Christmas gift too, wrapped up in a pretty jar.

p.p.s. If you are in the habit of using fake tan, I imagine this would work well to exfoliate your skin beforehand. I don’t know though because I don’t use fake tan!

9 thoughts on “Secrets to Glowing Skin: Oil and the Simplest DIY Coffee Scrub

  1. I have also been given a great snail deterrent idea: snails hate coffee grounds, so sprinkle your used coffee grounds around plants, throughout the garden and around the base of plant pots. I’m assured that this works – thought you might like to add to your page because it is eco-friendly, useful and economical. Thanks for the body scrub recipe (I think this is a great way to used up coffee grounds, and kinder to the snails, too LOL)

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: Chery’s DIY Bath Bombs | Cat's Kitchen

  3. Hi Cat!
    Like you, I’m Sydney-based and I was just wondering where you bought your coconut oil from? I’ve searched health food stores, supermarkets, chemists, beauty stores – you name it – but I still can’t find any and I’m very keen to try this recipe!
    Thank you! 🙂

    • Hi Siobhan!
      It’s sold at Coles in the health food aisle, or if not there, Dr Earth in Newtown sells plenty of it. I buy a kilo tub for $20 and it lasts for ages.
      Glad to hear you like the recipe, I hope it goes well!

  4. Hi,
    For how long can the quantity you mentioned be stored are the preparation and can this mixture be used everyday or would it affect the skin? I have very sensitive skin..

    • Hi Anabelle, I kept mine for over six months, although if I didn’t use it for a while the top would dry a little, but still be useable. As far as your skin goes, I’m afraid I can’t offer any advice. If you have sensitive skin maybe the scrub would be too harsh? You would have to judge that for yourself!

Leave a Reply

