BBQ Chickpeas with Mushrooms and Onion

My camera is on holiday, so here’s a photo taken by a friend of mine while holidaying in France. It makes me happy just seeing all the colours.

Do you remember how I had been cooking to a ‘theme’ each week? I still sort of do, I just haven’t mentioned it in a while. This week’s theme is recipes from a book called ‘Tasty Chicken’. On a vegan blog you ask? Yes, I’m not exactly following the recipes.

I’m sure you also struggle with the habit of holding onto each and every recipe book you find, along with magazines and newspaper clippings, printed blog posts and an internet browser full of tags. No? Do you create a folder with recipes filed away, in a fit of organisation, only to effectively forget about it? Perhaps I’m alone. Anyway, it gets messy. And I often find I don’t even get around to trying the recipes. Unless I specifically decide to go through them and pick one to make.

So I’ve still got some old recipe books from my earlier years, where I didn’t enjoy cooking much, and used to cook mostly from books such as ’10 minute chicken dinners’. Predictably, I don’t use those books much anymore. There’s nothing exciting in them.

Mistake. Some real gems are hidden away! And with a reasonable level of cooking confidence it’s really easy to just take the sauce or spice mix from a recipe and turn it into something completely different. This one for example – Spicy Chicken Wings & BBQ Beans. The recipe has a wonderful little BBQ sauce component, which I’ve stolen and tweaked and am sharing with you here in the form of super nutritious chickpeas, baked with mushrooms and broccoli. Sweet, salty, smokey BBQ sauce. Nom nom nom.

My plan is to make my way through my collection, keep what is worthwhile (and share it with you), then cull the clutter, ruthlessly. If anyone has any suggestions or has discovered a better recipe-file-system, please share!

BBQ Chickpeas with Mushrooms and Onion (serves 4)

Method:

  • 2 onions, halved and sliced
  • 1 stick of celery, chopped finely
  • 250g button mushrooms, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 3 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1 head broccoli, chopped
  • 4 cups spinach, chopped

Ingredients:

  1. On a high heat saute the onion and celery in water until the onion is soft and translucent.
  2. Add the mushrooms and garlic and saute until the mushrooms are getting a bit coloured.
  3. Mix up the vinegar, soy sauce, tomato paste, mustard, sugar and smoked paprika in a cup and stir through the onion mix.
  4. Lower the heat to medium and add the chickpeas. Simmer, uncovered for 10 minutes or until the sauce is a little thickened.
  5. Stir through the broccoli and cover for 2 minutes.
  6. Stir through the spinach and cover for another minute, or until the spinach is just wilted.
  7. Serve on it’s own or toss with salad leaves for a delicious BBQ chickpea salad!
4 thoughts on “BBQ Chickpeas with Mushrooms and Onion

  1. I am so trying this recipe this week! Looks amazing! Nice markets by the way 😉 I am a little proud to have on of my photos on your amazing blog! xoxo

Leave a Reply

