Cinnamon and sesame hummus

Before you smile, nod, and back away slowly, hear me out.

Have you ever had a tasting platter of fruits, cheeses (for the non-vegans), little antipasti vegetable things and quince paste? This subtly sweet hummus fits somewhere along those lines. It’s the sort of thing you might serve alongside something savoury, and it would be that unexpected, stand-out flavour. On the other hand, you could use it to dip fruit pieces into, for a healthy, high fibre, nutrient dense snack. I wouldn’t go all out and serve it with ice-cream or cake. It’s not a dessert. Actually, I’m having a difficult time defining it at all! All I know is that I made it, it was delicious, and I’ll be making it again.

Perhaps if you make it too, you could help me classify it and suggest ways in which to serve it? Something more inventive than the bowl, spoon and kale leaves I was eating it with yesterday.

I’m thinking maybe as something to nibble on with crackers for afternoon tea with friends…

Cinnamon and sesame hummus

Despite my love affair with the convenience of tinned legumes, I was urged to try cooking with dried chickpeas by a lovely friend from work. Eventually I did, and when I tasted the plain cooked chickpeas, I was so impressed! Nutty and beautifully smooth, I immediatly appreciated why she preferred them.

Tinned chickpeas are quite salted, which really does change their flavour. These chickpeas were delicious enough to eat alone, and I was immediatly racking my brain to think of a way to use them in a sweeter dish. As it turns out, sweet hummus is quite the trend in the blogosphere at the moment!

Russell Hobbs has sent me a replacement part for my food processor, but I’m technically challenged and even my most manly Mr Fix-It (Ash) can’t figure it out. So out came the mortar and pestle again. It was hard work, but it gave the hummus such an interesting texture!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of dried chickpeas, soaked overnight
  • A dash of soy or almond milk
  • 6 dates, soaked overnight
  • 2 tbsp natural, unsalted peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • a small crack of salt
  • honey or agave to taste
  • toasted sesame seeds to serve

Method:

  1. Boil the chickpeas until they’re tender, about an hour.
  2. Grind the dates into a paste, or add them to the food processor in the next step.
  3. Either process chickpeas, soy milk, dates, peanut butter and tahini in a food processor. Or grind the chickpeas with a mortar and pestle (a little soy milk will help here). If using a mortar and pestle you might want to do the chickpeas in batches and mix together with other ingredients at the end.
  4. Taste and add other ingredients.
  5. Serve drizzled with honey or agave and sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds.

p.s. I haven’t set a theme this week! Perhaps it can be ‘what’s in the fridge week’ as I didn’t do the shopping.

Leave a Reply

