Chilli cinnamon relish

So, as I’ve mentioned, we bought a rainbow chilli tree. First order, harissa!

I looked up a few recipes, and they all have carraway seeds – seems it’s an important part of the flavour or whatever. Well, I’m effort-adverse, I didn’t have any on my spice shelf and wasn’t about to go get some. So to hell with harissa, this is just a chilli sauce. And it’s good. Maybe next time I’ll make harissa… but this one is being made again for sure.

In terms of flavours, I was thinking about favourite uses of chilli and I remembered that San Churros makes my favourite hot chocolate ever – chilli and cinnamon. It’s not vegan so I don’t get it anymore, but hey, chilli and cinnamon makes a fine flavour combination. Turns out it works well in savoury dishes too!

"let's get physical, physical"

Chilli cinnamon relish (makes about 1/4 cup… next time I’ll make more)

I have just been having this as a part of dinner – eg a teaspoon on the side of your plate is good. Ash thought it was really hot, I could eat it straight. Depends on how much of a badass you are I guess.

Ingredients:

  • 15-20 small red chillis
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp good olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground coriander

Method:

Smash with a mortar and pestle for about 5 minutes.

I tried the food processor and it failed. Maybe mine just sucks, but I’m sure harissa was invented before food processors were so it’s sort of nice to get all traditional ‘n shiz.

Leave a Reply

